So yeah... I'm not doing a very good job of updating this regularly. I'm going to try get better at that (I promise!), and hopefully I'll be able to do at least two each week (slightly wishful thinking, but we'll see how much time I have). My plan right now (that I literally just thought of) is to do one random one during the week, and then another one sometime on the weekend recapping my marathon training for the week. Seeing as Saturdays are my long run days, we'll see if I have the energy to do it afterwards, so I reserve the right to put it off until Sundays (it's my blog damn it and I'll do what I want).
Anyways, today is Monday, but not just any Monday, it's the end-of-the-NFL-lockout-Monday! Finally, after listening to ESPN update us daily (was that really necessary??) on the current situation with the lockout, it's finally over and the owners and players have agreed to a new CBA. And now we get to listen to ESPN talk about it 23.5 hours a day! They would be covering it 24/7, but for some reason unbeknownst to me they continue to put Sportsnation on the air. I'm sure Colin Cowherd will have some unintelligible thing to say about it, but seriously, that show is the worst thing on television (well, at least on ESPN). I would tell you what I think of Colin Cowherd, but I'd like to keep this a PG as possible and I'd rather not spend the entirety of this post about him, but suffice it to say I think he's a worthless POS and never has anything important or intelligent to say about anything.
Back to there finally being football again. The one good thing about there being a very abbreviated "offseason" is that free agency is going to be ridiculous. In a good way. By this I mean that instead of weeks (even months) of speculation about players signing new deals or being traded, it will all happen in a matter of hours or days, which for me - being the impatient person that I am - is awesome.
I was recently introduced to a band called The Joy Formidable (thanks Johann!). They're a three-piece alternative band from Wales, and they make enough noise that you'd think there were at least three times as many people in the band. They're one of the most original bands I've heard recently and though they only have one full-length album, it's an amazing album. They're definitely a band worth looking into. Here, I'll even put one of their songs right here so you don't have to waste the two seconds it would take to look them up on Youtube (hopefully it works):
For those of you on the West Coast (the best coast), you've been lucky enough not to have to endure the heat wave we've been experiencing for the past week+. Upper 90s with humidity through the roof and the heat index consistently near or waay over 100 = awfulness personified. Today, it rained A TON (for about an hour), which cooled everything down nicely. ...Unfortunately the forecast says it's going to be back up towards 100 by the end of the week.
The new Old Spice commercials with Fabio are ridiculous. That is all.
X Games 17 starts this week. Super stoked.
For those of you not brave enough to sit through an entire 90+ minutes of Spanish broadcast, or didn't know or don't care, Uruguay won their record 15th Copa America, thus proving that last summer's World Cup semi-final appearance (and but for a Diego Forlan free kick off the post at the end of regulation, very nearly a WC finalist) was no fluke. But seriously, for a team with Uruguay's pedigree (2 World Cups and now 15 Copa America titles), it shouldn't be that surprising that they've done as well as they have in recent tournaments.
Well, that's enough for now. Hopefully by Saturday afternoon I'll have run over 20 miles this week and I'll let you know how that all went.
No comments:
Post a Comment